One Half from the East (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
One Half from the East Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


This modern-day story takes place in Afghanistan, where 10 year-old Obayda’s family has decided to transform her into a bacha posh, a girl being disguised as a boy. This age-old custom impacts Obayda in a surprising way!

-Recommended by Virgie

— From December 2016 Staff Picks for Young Readers

Description


Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi's first novel for young readers is a coming-of-age journey set in modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh--a preteen girl dressed as a boy.

Obayda's family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an idea to bring the family luck--dress Obayda, the youngest of four sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh.

Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes. Their transformation won't last forever, though--unless the two best friends can figure out a way to make it stick and make their newfound freedoms endure.

Nadia Hashimi's first novel for adults, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, was a bestseller that shares a bacha posh character with One Half from the East.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062421906
ISBN-10: 0062421905
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: September 6th, 2016
Pages: 272
Language: English