The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly Cover Image
$10.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


This is a beautifully written book about a young girl named Minnow, who has run away from what she thought was her home, but was actually a cult. When she is found, she is put in a juvenile detention center and charged for crimes relating to the cult. More comes to light about her past. How is Minnow going to go on with her life when she feels so  judged for her past actions?
 
I really loved this book!!!
 
If you enjoy this book, you should also read All the Truth That's In Me by Julie Berry and Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed.

-Recommended by Chris

— From January 2017 Staff Picks

Description


A hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith and the power of having faith in yourself. Finalist for the Morris Award.
The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.
Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of if she's willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.
Gorgeously written, breathlessly page-turning and sprinkled with moments of unexpected humor, this harrowing debut isperfect for readers of Emily Murdoch's If You Find MeandNova Ren Suma's The Walls Around Us, as well as for fans of Orange is the New Black.

About the Author


Stephanie Oakes lives in Spokane, Washington, and works as a library media teacher in a combined middle and elementary school. She has an MFA in poetry from Eastern Washington University. The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly is her debut novel.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780147510167
ISBN-10: 0147510163
Publisher: Speak
Publication Date: November 1st, 2016
Pages: 400
Language: English