A Secret History of Witches (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
A Secret History of Witches Cover Image
$25.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


The Family Orchieres have always been witches, every mother, daughter and granddaughter.  They have faced all the things that witches have faced over the centuries. This is the history of these very powerful women and how through the course of time, they manage to stay a step ahead of all the witch hunters and with each new generation of women comes a new wonder for their heritage. The Secret History of Witches is the tale of five generations of Orchieres. With so much history woven in, and threads of magic dispersed throughout the story, it’s a wonderful read for the fall.  

This is for fans of Discovery of Witches or The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane.

-Recommended by Chris

— From September Staff Picks for All Readers

Description


A sweeping historical saga that traces five generations of fiercely powerful mothers and daughters - witches whose magical inheritance is both a dangerous threat and an extraordinary gift.
Brittany, 1821. After Grand-mere Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her.
Even so, the Orchires fight to keep the old ways alive, practicing half-remembered spells and arcane rites in hopes of a revival. And when their youngest daughter comes of age, magic flows anew. The lineage continues, though new generations struggle not only to master their power, but also to keep it hidden.
But when World War II looms on the horizon, magic is needed more urgently than ever - not for simple potions or visions, but to change the entire course of history.
"At once sprawling and intimate, A Secret History of Witches deftly captures the greatest magic of all: the love between mothers and daughters." --Jordanna Max Brodsky, author of The Immortals

About the Author


Louisa Morgan is a pseudonym.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780316508551
ISBN-10: 0316508551
Publisher: Redhook
Publication Date: September 5th, 2017
Pages: 496
Language: English