The Story of Arthur Truluv (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Story of Arthur Truluv Cover Image
$26.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


85 year old Arthur Truluv is living a lonely routine, visiting with his dead wife at the graveyard everyday. Arthur’s neighbor Lucille, also elderly, is dealing with the loss of the love of her life. Seventeen year old Maddie, whose mother died when she was two weeks old, is still affected by her loss. These three characters, all lonely and alone, “find” each other and choose to carve out their own version of a family, making a lively and interesting home full of love and laughter. The warmth and charm of the characters tug at your heart. If you enjoyed A Man Called Ove or Our Souls at Night I think you will find this equally delightful!

- Recommended by Virgie

— From November Staff Picks for Bibliophiles

December 2017 Indie Next List


“If ever there were a perfect ointment to soothe the increasing incivility of today's world, Elizabeth Berg's The Story of Arthur Truluv could provide that salve. A warm story about elderly neighbors Arthur and Lucille and a teenage outsider, Maddy, this book demonstrates that all love and kindness have not disappeared, that there are pockets of caring living in certain people. Complete with cemeteries, warm cranberry-nut bars, a bully boyfriend, loneliness, and a baseball bat, Arthur Truluv is the right book at the right time. Let your heart soar!”
— Nancy Simpson-Brice, The Book Vault, Oskaloosa, IA

Description


"I dare you to read this novel and not fall in love with Arthur Truluv. His story will make you laugh and cry, and will show you a love that never ends, and what it means to be truly human."--Fannie Flagg

An emotionally powerful novel about three people who each lose the one they love most, only to find second chances where they least expect them

"Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or Elizabeth] Berg's previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose. Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers' heartstrings."--Booklist

For the past six months, Arthur Moses's days have looked the same: He tends to his rose garden and to Gordon, his cat, then rides the bus to the cemetery to visit his beloved late wife for lunch. The last thing Arthur would imagine is for one unlikely encounter to utterly transform his life.

Eighteen-year-old Maddy Harris is an introspective girl who visits the cemetery to escape the other kids at school. One afternoon she joins Arthur--a gesture that begins a surprising friendship between two lonely souls. Moved by Arthur's kindness and devotion, Maddy gives him the nickname "Truluv." As Arthur's neighbor Lucille moves into their orbit, the unlikely trio band together and, through heartache and hardships, help one another rediscover their own potential to start anew.

Wonderfully written and full of profound observations about life, The Story of Arthur Truluv is a beautiful and moving novel of compassion in the face of loss, of the small acts that turn friends into family, and of the possibilities to achieve happiness at any age.

Praise for The Story of Arthur Truluv

"For several days after finishing The Story of Arthur Truluv], I felt lifted by it, and I found myself telling friends, also feeling overwhelmed by 2017, about the book. Read this, I said, it will offer some balance to all that has happened, and it is a welcome reminder we're all neighbors here."--Chicago Tribune

"Not since Paul Zindel's classic The Pigman have we seen such a unique bond between people who might not look twice at each other in real life. This small, mighty novel offers proof that they should."--People, Book of the Week

About the Author


Elizabeth Berg is the author of many bestselling novels, including Open House (an Oprah's Book Club selection), Talk Before Sleep, and The Year of Pleasures, as well as the short story collection The Day I Ate Whatever I Wanted. Durable Goods and Joy School were selected as ALA Best Books of the Year. She adapted The Pull of the Moon into a play that enjoyed sold-out performances in Chicago and Indianapolis. Berg's work has been translated into twenty-seven languages, and three of her novels have been turned into television movies. She is the founder of Writing Matters, a quality reading series dedicated to serving author, audience, and community. She teaches one-day writing workshops and is a popular speaker at venues around the country. Some of her most popular Facebook postings have been collected in Make Someone Happy. She lives outside Chicago.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781400069903
ISBN-10: 1400069904
Publisher: Random House
Publication Date: November 21st, 2017
Pages: 240
Language: English