Kim Keith's Picks

$26.95
ISBN-13: 9781591844235
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Portfolio Hardcover, 5/2012
February 2013: The Reinventors reveals secrets used by great companies like Starbucks, Apple, Capital One, Southwest Airlines, etc. to remain relevant, grow and stay one step ahead of the competition. The ten rules for reinvention are identified and vividly illustrated with stories of success. Being committed to growth and constant change is part of business reinvention. It can be fun and according to Jennings, it is absolutely necessary. This is part management, part marketing strategy and part leadership book all in one.

$35.00
ISBN-13: 9780307595652
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf, 10/2012
January 2013: This cookbook is full of delicious recipes that are a treat for you eyes as well as your tummy. I have had a love affair with cooking as long as I can remember. I must say, the title was the reason I picked this cookbook up initially. It was so much fun to try out new dishes from the award-winning blogger Deb Perelmen. She presents a long-awaited first cookbook of 100 new and favorite recipes - like Mushroom Bourguignon "it's about getting one of the best classically complex French flavors in your kitchen on a weekday night with only a moderate amount of effort and minimal cooking time."

$13.99
ISBN-13: 9780446679497
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Grand Central Publishing, 1/2005
January 2013: With a voice like the comedian, David Sedaris, Gilman delivers a glorious memoir of 'growing up' in New York in the 70s with hippie parents and a longing for becoming a princess, or an angel, or a ballerina, or a primadona or anything else where she is allowed to wear a tutu. She divides the book into three sections, which are representative of the stages of her life up to her late 20s. Starting at her early childhood in Part 1, "Grape Juice and Humiliation," moving into adolescence in Part 2: "Not Just Horny, But Obnoxious, Too." and Part 3: "Reality Says Hello," moves us through her awkward transition into adulthood and the responsibility it brings. In her telling memoir Gilman puts forth a kind of feminism that encourages women to both acknowledge their own mistakes, and learn to let them go.

You Be You (Hardcover)

$12.95
ISBN-13: 9781589796669
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Taylor Trade Publishing, 10/2011
January 2013: Companion book to Only One You. Follow the adventures of inquisitive Ardi as he notices there are many fish in the deep blue sea & each fish has something special to share. Beautiful story & messages with beautiful artwork.

$24.95
ISBN-13: 9781565129238
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, 6/2012
The newest novel by Robert Goolrick, author of the New York Times #1 Best Seller, A Reliable Wife is “Heading Out to Wonderful”. It is a humane tale, filled with generous people who want to do the right thing, and maintains accuracy in depicting a sense of place in a by-gone era. It explores themes of sin and forgiveness, secrets and lies, memory and forgetfulness. An unsettling yet realistic novel that is ripe with discussion points.

Shantaram (Paperback)

$15.99
ISBN-13: 9780312330538
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin, 10/2005
Shantaram is a 2003 novel by Gregory David Roberts, in which a convicted Australian bank robber and heroin addict who escaped from Pentridge Prison flees to India where he lives for 10 years. This book is a roller coaster of moving, often dangerous experiences and jewels of thought. I highlighted memorable quotes in this book more than any other. It is 936 pages but keeps you going through every single page. An epic, mesmerizing first novel set in the underworld of contemporary Bombay.  "I don't know what frightens me more, the power that crushes us, or our endless ability to endure it."

The Snow Child (Hardcover)

$12.50
ISBN-13: 9780316175678
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Reagan Arthur Books, 2/2012
The quote surrounding this book is "If Willa Cather and Gabriel Garcia Marquez had collaborated on a book, The Snow Child would be it. Eowyn Ivey is a bookseller at an independent store in Alaska, and her debut novel has rocked the indie bookselling world. Set in the 1920s in rural Alaska, it follows a couple who wish for a child, but never get one. One day, they build a little girl out of snow. The next morning, their snow girl has vanished but a new character, Faina appears on the scene. From here, the book becomes a fable or a fairy tale, guaranteed to grab readers who enjoyed Marquez's One Hundred Years of Solitude or Ali Shaw's The Girl with Glass Feet.