Kim Keith's Picks

$26.95
ISBN: 9781591844235
Availability: Special Order
Published: Portfolio - May 10th, 2012

February 2013: The
Reinventors reveals secrets used by great companies like Starbucks,
Apple, Capital One, Southwest Airlines, etc. to remain relevant, grow
and stay one step ahead of the competition. The ten rules for
reinvention are identified and vividly illustrated with stories of
success. Being committed to growth and constant change is part of
business reinvention. It can be fun and according to Jennings, it is
absolutely necessary. This is part management, part marketing strategy
and part leadership book all in one.


$35.00
ISBN: 9780307595652
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - October 30th, 2012

January 2013: This cookbook is full of delicious recipes that are a treat for you eyes as well as your tummy. I have had a love affair with cooking as long as I can remember. I must say, the title was the reason I picked this cookbook up initially. It was so much fun to try out new dishes from the award-winning blogger Deb Perelmen. She presents a long-awaited first cookbook of 100 new and favorite recipes - like Mushroom Bourguignon "it's about getting one of the best classically complex French flavors in your kitchen on a weekday night with only a moderate amount of effort and minimal cooking time."


$13.99
ISBN: 9780446679497
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Warner Books (NY) - January 2005

January 2013: With a voice like the comedian, David Sedaris, Gilman delivers a glorious memoir of 'growing up' in New York in the 70s with hippie parents and a longing for becoming a princess, or an angel, or a ballerina, or a primadona or anything else where she is allowed to wear a tutu. She divides the book into three sections, which are representative of the stages of her life up to her late 20s. Starting at her early childhood in Part 1, "Grape Juice and Humiliation," moving into adolescence in Part 2: "Not Just Horny, But Obnoxious, Too." and Part 3: "Reality Says Hello," moves us through her awkward transition into adulthood and the responsibility it brings. In her telling memoir Gilman puts forth a kind of feminism that encourages women to both acknowledge their own mistakes, and learn to let them go.


$12.95
ISBN: 9781589796669
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Taylor Trade Publishing - October 16th, 2011

January 2013: Companion book to Only One You. Follow the adventures of inquisitive Ardi as he notices there are many fish in the deep blue sea & each fish has something special to share. Beautiful story & messages with beautiful artwork.


Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781565129238
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill - June 12th, 2012

The newest novel by Robert Goolrick, author of the New York Times #1 Best Seller, A Reliable Wife is “Heading Out to Wonderful”. It is a humane tale, filled with generous people who want to do the right thing, and maintains accuracy in depicting a sense of place in a by-gone era. It explores themes of sin and forgiveness, secrets and lies, memory and forgetfulness. An unsettling yet realistic novel that is ripe with discussion points.


$17.99
ISBN: 9780312330538
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - October 2005

Shantaram is a 2003 novel by Gregory David Roberts, in which a convicted Australian bank robber and heroin addict who escaped from Pentridge Prison flees to India where he lives for 10 years. This book is a roller coaster of moving, often dangerous experiences and jewels of thought. I highlighted memorable quotes in this book more than any other. It is 936 pages but keeps you going through every single page. An epic, mesmerizing first novel set in the underworld of contemporary Bombay.  "I don't know what frightens me more, the power that crushes us, or our endless ability to endure it."


$24.99
ISBN: 9780316175678
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Reagan Arthur Books - February 2012

The quote surrounding this book is "If Willa Cather and Gabriel Garcia Marquez had collaborated on a book, The Snow Child would be it. Eowyn Ivey is a bookseller at an independent store in Alaska, and her debut novel has rocked the indie bookselling world. Set in the 1920s in rural Alaska, it follows a couple who wish for a child, but never get one. One day, they build a little girl out of snow. The next morning, their snow girl has vanished but a new character, Faina appears on the scene. From here, the book becomes a fable or a fairy tale, guaranteed to grab readers who enjoyed Marquez's One Hundred Years of Solitude or Ali Shaw's The Girl with Glass Feet.