Worm Loves Worm (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Worm Loves Worm By J. J. Austrian, Mike Curato (Illustrator) Cover Image
By J. J. Austrian, Mike Curato (Illustrator)
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Aug 7 4:04pm
(Picture Book Hardcover)

Staff Reviews


I love this book so dearly! The perfect read-aloud, this wonderful book is a perfect way to introduce inclusivity and tolerance as it celebrates love in all forms! When worm and worm want to be married, their friends cricket, bees, spider and beetle have lots of questions. Who will wear the dress? Who will wear the tux? Read along as through teamwork and friendship, they discover that none of it really matters because Worm loves Worm. 

-Annali

— From Awesome August Staff Picks

Description


One of Time Out'“LGBTQ+ books for kids to read during Pride Month,” this irresistible picture book is a celebration of love in all its splendid forms from debut author J. J. Austrian and the acclaimed author-illustrator of Little Elliot, Big City, Mike Curato.

You are cordially invited to celebrate the wedding of a worm...and a worm.

When a worm meets a special worm and they fall in love, you know what happens next: They get married! But their friends want to know—who will wear the dress? And who will wear the tux?

The answer is: It doesn't matter. Because worm loves worm.

Perfect for fans of Last Week Tonight with John Oliver Presents A Day in the Life of Marlon Bundo, And Tango Makes Three, and The Sissy Duckling.

 

About the Author


Mike Curato is also the creator of the popular Little Elliot series. He and his husband, Dan, were married in a very wormy wedding. They live in New York City.

Praise For…


“Austrian and Curato turn the simple wedding of two worms into a three-ring circus that slyly turns the whole controversy over same-sex versus heterosexual marriage on its head…As in life, love conquers all.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“How do you explain a revolution to a young audience? This book is a terrific start.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“With its cute critters, sweet story, and messages of equality, this is a first purchase that celebrates the fact that love always wins.” — School Library Journal

“A witty and playful story...Adults looking for some assistance in explaining marriage equality will find this a concise and useful too.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062386335
ISBN-10: 0062386336
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: January 5th, 2016
Pages: 32
Language: English