Skip to main content
The Braid Girls

The Braid Girls

Current price: $8.99
Publication Date: June 13th, 2023
Publisher:
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN:
9780316461597
Pages:
272
Off the Beaten Path Bookstore
1 on hand, as of Feb 28 3:22am
(Children's Juvenile Fiction (7-11))
On Our Shelves Now

Description

In this unforgettable summer novel perfect for fans of From the Desk of Zoe Washington, Maggie, her best friend Daija, and her new half-sister Callie team up to create the ultimate hair-braiding business.

Maggie's world is turned upside down when she learns that her father, whom she admires, has a second daughter, Callie, whom no one knew existed. But she won't let a new family member get in the way of her summer plans with best friend Daija. They're determined to make tons of money braiding hair for kids around the neighborhood.

Daija's always felt like she had a sister in Maggie. So she can't let new half-sister Callie take her place! And she can't let her interfere with their new Braid Girls business, either. She needs the money to pay for extra ballet lessons so she can go en pointe and earn a spot in the fall dance showcase, making her distant father proud at last—if she pulls this off, he'll have to pay attention to her.

Callie's still grieving her late mom. Now she's leaving her old home in the Bahamas behind, including her old school and friends to move in with the father she's never met, plus his family. When she hears of Maggie's and Daija's business, she sees a chance to prove her skills and a way to be accepted.

With three very different girls on board, the Braid Girls arrive to a summer camp full of kids with locs begging to be braided. Business is booming, until rival Angela shows up with her friends and starts a new braiding business—the Sistahs Who Braid. With competition heating up, the Braid Girls are sure to have an unforgettable summer.

About the Author

Sherri Winston is the author of President of the Whole Fifth Grade; President of the Whole Sixth Grade; President of the Whole Sixth Grade: Girl Code; The Sweetest Sound; Jada Sly, Artist & Spy; The Kayla Chronicles; and Lotus Bloom and the Afro Revolution. She lives with her family in Florida.

Praise for The Braid Girls

"This book celebrates the empowerment of young Black girls across all walks of life."—Booklist

"In addition to the centrality of friendship in the lives of middle schoolers, the family connections are richly portrayed.... The story is told in the three girls’ alternating voices, and the supporting adult characters add realistic texture. An enjoyable story with lively and engaging protagonists."
 
 —Kirkus Reviews

"Told through the alternating points of view of the three girls, the story explores themes of friend and family relationships, grief, bullying, divorce, and parental absence, all handled with care and sensitivity."—Horn Book