Pearl (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Pearl Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Feb 21 4:30am
(Picture Book Hardcover)

Staff Reviews


Pearl is a lovely story about a little mermaid who is looking for her place.  Some mermaids tend to the great beasts of the sea, some guard the beautiful coral reefs, and some roll powerful waves onto the beaches, so Pearl is sad and disappointed when her mother tasks her with watching over a single grain of sand.  When Pearl sets her mind to her task though, she finds that a little bit of love can go a very long way, and that even the smallest grain of sand (or mermaid) can become something great! With beautiful colored pencil drawings done by the author, and a heartwarming story to boot, this is everything a picture book should be.  Perfect for fans of On the Night You Were Born author Nancy Tillman, or the illustrated trilogy by Aaron Becker, Journey, Quest, Return.

Recommended by Jenna

— From Staff Favorites for October 2018

Description


Caldecott Honor author-illustrator Molly Idle dazzles with an original mermaid tale about how small, persistent actions can achieve great things.

Sometimes the tiniest light can shine the brightest! Like the other mermaids of the deep, Pearl longs to care for the endless beaches, coral reefs, and towering kelp forests of her vast ocean world. So when her mother asks her to tend to a mere grain of sand, Pearl is heartbroken. It takes all her patience and determination to discover how even the littlest mermaid can transform the world.

Caldecott Honor-winning author and artist Molly Idle has masterfully crafted a modern classic in this mesmerizing tale about the immense power of small actions.

About the Author


Molly Idle's work as an author-illustrator includes the Caldecott Honor Book Flora and the Flamingo, Flora and the Penguin, Flora and the Peacocks, Flora and the Chicks, Flora and the Ostrich, and Tea Rex, Camp Rex, Sea Rex, and Santa Rex, among other books. She lives with her family in Arizona, and invites you to visit her at idleillustration.com.

Praise For…


[*] "For her fable about patience and perseverance, Idle has created stunning watery spreads, full of curves reflecting the gently scalloped edges of the giant clam that is Pearl's home. ...Careful word choice and thoughtful phrasing make this a pleasure to read aloud. A gentle, glowing lesson that even the smallest efforts can lead to large, even environmental results."
Kirkus Reviews, starred review


[*] "This contemporary fable is sure to captivate."—School Library Connection, starred review


"Glorious."—School Library Journal


"The story soars toward a light-filled, celestial conclusion."—Publishers Weekly
Product Details
ISBN: 9780316465670
ISBN-10: 0316465674
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: October 9th, 2018
Pages: 48
Language: English