The Dinner Party: Stories (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Dinner Party: Stories Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews

I forgot the beauty of short stories, allowing the reader the luxury of beginning, ending and processing a tale within a short time span. I especially enjoy reading these tales before I fall asleep. Ferris’ stories are a potpourri of experiences about friendship, aging alone and even marital affairs! The tales are are funny, tender and others make the reader squirm! Each story gives food for thought! Available in audiobook.

-Recommended by Virgie

— From July 2017 Staff Picks


A New York Times Book Review Notable Book of the Year
The first collection of short stories from the critically acclaimed, prize-winning author of To Rise Again at a Decent Hour.

These eleven stories by Joshua Ferris, many of which were first published in The New Yorker, are at once thrilling, strange, and comic. The modern tribulations of marriage, ambition, and the fear of missing out as the temptations flow like wine and the minutes of life tick down are explored with the characteristic wit and insight that have made Ferris one of our most critically acclaimed novelists.

Each of these stories burrows deep into the often awkward and hilarious misunderstandings that pass between strangers and lovers alike, and that turn ordinary lives upside down. Ferris shows to what lengths we mortals go to coax human meaning from our very modest time on earth, an effort that skews ever-more desperately in the direction of redemption. There's Arty Groys, the Florida retiree whose birthday celebration involves pizza, a prostitute, and a life-saving heart attack. There's Sarah, the Brooklynite whose shape-shifting existential dilemma is set in motion by a simple spring breeze. And there's Jack, a man so warped by past experience that he's incapable of having a normal social interaction with the man he hires to help him move out of storage.

The stories in The Dinner Party are about lives changed forever when the reckless gives way to possibility and the ordinary cedes ground to mystery. And each one confirms Ferris's reputation as one of the most dazzlingly talented, deeply humane writers at work today.

About the Author

Joshua Ferris is the bestselling author of three novels, Then We Came to the End, The Unnamed and To Rise Again at a Decent Hour. He has been a finalist for the National Book Award, winner of the Barnes and Noble Discover Award and the PEN/Hemingway Award, short-listed for the Man Booker Prize, winner of the International Dylan Thomas Prize, and was named one of The New Yorker's "20 Under 40" writers in 2010. He lives in New York.

Coverage from NPR

Product Details
ISBN: 9780316465953
ISBN-10: 031646595X
Publisher: Little Brown and Company
Publication Date: May 2nd, 2017
Pages: 256
Language: English