For the Wolf (The Wilderwood #1) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
For the Wolf (The Wilderwood #1) Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Jul 21 2:03am
(New Paperback Fiction)

Staff Reviews


For the Wolf is a perfect retelling for anyone who is hoping for a fresh twist on a classic story.  Redarys is the second daughter of a kingdom responsible for appeasing the dark Wilderwood on its northern border, in the hope the wood’s wolf guardian will return their god-kings.  The second daughter is always the sacrifice offered to appease the wood’s appetite.  However, on the night Red enters the woods, she discovers that not everything she has been told is true, and the Wolf might not be the murderous creature she was always taught to fear.  What if the true threat lies far closer to home than her people ever truly realized?  This is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo’s GrishaVerse books, or Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles. -Jenna

Check out the Audiobook

— From Jocund July Staff Picks

Description


AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

The first daughter is for the Throne.

The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark, sweeping debut fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn't the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose—to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he'll return the world's captured gods.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can't control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can't hurt those she loves. Again.

But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn't learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood—and her world—whole.

"A brilliant dark fantasy debut!" —Jodi Picoult, NYT bestselling author

About the Author


Hannah Whitten has been writing to amuse herself since she could hold a pen, and sometime in high school, she figured out that what amused her might also amuse others. When she's not writing, she's reading, making music, or attempting to bake. She lives in Tennessee with her husband and children in a house ruled by a temperamental cat.

Praise For…


"Drenched in atmosphere, with sharp and biting prose, Whitten’s For the Wolf is a glorious journey through woods deep and so very dark. A stunning debut."—Erin Craig, NYT bestselling author of House of Salt and Sorrows

“A brilliant dark fantasy debut. I loved it! I was completely swept away by the world-building, the characters, and the delicate gorgeousness of the writing.”—Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author

“Eerie, earthy to its bones, and rife with elder magic. Hannah Whitten is one to watch.”—Anna Bright, author of The Beholder

"Atmospheric, folkloric, and half-familiar. If you ever wished Beauty and the Beast had more eldritch forest monsters and political machinations, this is the romance for you."—Alix E. Harrow, author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January

"Whitten weaves a captivating tale in this debut, in which even secondary characters come to feel like old friends. The novel seamlessly blends "Little Red Riding Hood" and "Beauty and the Beast" into an un-put-down-able fairy tale that traces the boundaries of duty, love, and loss. A masterful debut from a must-read new voice in fantasy."
 —Kirkus

"Whitten debuts with a dark, dazzling reimagining of 'Little Red Riding Hood'... Whitten lovingly weaves in elements from other fairy tales, including 'Beauty and the Beast' and 'Snow White,' while crafting a story that is all her own. With clever, immersive prose and a subtle touch of horror, this is sure to enchant."—Publishers Weekly

"This hauntingly beautiful, fractured retelling of Little Red Riding Hood is dark, emotional, and filled with tense action. Whitten’s debut is epic and enthralling."—Library Journal
Product Details
ISBN: 9780316592789
ISBN-10: 0316592781
Publisher: Orbit
Publication Date: June 1st, 2021
Pages: 480
Language: English
Series: The Wilderwood