Normal Rules Don't Apply: Stories (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Normal Rules Don't Apply: Stories By Kate Atkinson Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Nov 28 4:33am
(New Fiction Hardcover)

Staff Reviews

Everything is a little off kilter, then fully kilterless in Kate Atkinson’s newest short story collection. These stories read like fairy tales as told by a fairy who kinda wants to scare you, but wants you ro see the beauty in oddities. This collection is ripe with intrigue and perfect for anyone who just wants a little nibble of the weird and wonderful.

-Izzy M

— From Neat November Staff Picks


A dazzling collection of eleven interconnected stories from the bestselling, award-winning author of Shrines of Gaiety and Life After Life, with everything that readers love about her novels—the inventiveness, the verbal felicity, the sharp observations on human nature, and the deeply satisfying emotional wallop.

Nothing is quite as it seems in this collection of eleven dazzling stories. We meet a queen who makes a bargain she cannot keep; a secretary who watches over the life she has just left; a man who bets on a horse that may—or may not—have spoken to him. Everything that readers love about the novels of Kate Atkinson is here—the inventiveness, the verbal felicity, the sharp observations on human nature, and the deeply satisfying emotional wallop. 

A startling and funny feast for the imagination, these stories conjure a multiverse of subtly connected worlds while illuminating the webs of chance and connection among us all.

About the Author

KATE ATKINSON won the Whitbread (now Costa) Book of the Year prize with her first novel, Behind the Scenes at the Museum. Her 2013 novel Life After Life was shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction and voted Book of the Year for the independent booksellers associations on both sides of the Atlantic. It also won the Costa Novel Award, as did her subsequent novel, A God in Ruins (2015), and was adapted into a critically acclaimed television series in 2022. Her bestselling novels featuring former detective Jackson Brodie became the BBC television series Case Histories, starring Jason Isaacs. She has written twelve groundbreaking, bestselling books and lives in Edinburgh, Scotland.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780385549509
ISBN-10: 0385549504
Publisher: Doubleday
Publication Date: September 12th, 2023
Pages: 224
Language: English