Lady Thief: A Scarlet Novel (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Lady Thief: A Scarlet Novel Cover Image
$9.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Feb 21 4:30am
(Teen Fiction)

Staff Reviews


Scarlet, aka Lady Marian, is caught between the love of her life, Robin Hood, and her abusive estranged husband, Gisborne, who has issued an ultimatum - come to court and play the dutiful wife until he can secure the post of sheriff, and the marriage will be annulled. Scarlet is no court lady, preferring to live with her band of outlaws, wearing pants and short hair and teaching the villagers how to fight with knives, but the prospect of an annulment is an offer she can’t refuse. Life at court under Prince John is a nightmare - she’s called names, brutalized by her husband and Prince John, and lives under constant threat of violence that enrages Robin, though he knows Scarlet will do as she will. There’s a secret, though, a secret about herself that Gisborne knows, one that might change the course of Scarlet’s life forever. This is the second novel in a trilogy: the first is titled Scarlet, the third Lion Heart.

If you like this you will like this: Spinning Silver, A Game of Thrones series

  • Recommended by Megan

— From August Staff Picks to Conclude Your Summer

Description


Scarlet's true identity has been revealed, but her future is uncertain. Her forced marriage to Lord Gisbourne threatens Robin and Scarlet's love, and the royal court has come to Nottingham to appoint a new sheriff. The people hope that Prince John will give them a champion, but the prince has different plans . . . involving Scarlet and Lord Gisbourne.

Scarlet must put aside her weapons and boys' clothing to join the dark and plotting court. She will do anything to outwit the Prince and win a life with Rob, but hidden within the court is a secret no one was supposed to discover. When the truth is revealed, Scarlet will have to pay a steep price.

Featuring a strong girl heroine who will appeal to fans of Grave Mercy and Throne of Glass, this sequel to Scarlet will leave readers breathless for more.

About the Author


A. C. Gaughen is a freelance writer and regular blogger who has had several stories published in the Chicken Soup for the Soul series. She attended college in Scotland but now lives in Massachusetts, USA.

Praise For…


“The second volume of the Scarlet series plunges readers happily into the world of Sherwood Forest and does not end with any resolution, but its spirited action and rich voices hold.” —Kirkus Reviews

“A must for secondary and public libraries that purchased the first book, this sequel will capture teen interest, and could also serve as a high-energy read-aloud . . . A welcome addition for libraries wishing to promote strong female protagonists.” —School Library Journal

“Gaughen prepares her readers well for volume two by filling in the backstory from the first entry and entices them to read the next entry with a cliff-hanging ending.” —VOYA

“There's plenty of action here, as well as romance, and it appears that there's even more to come.” —Booklist

“Debut novelist Gaughen does more than offer a rip-roaring tale, though it is that. The story, told in Scar's distinctive first-person voice, captivates and gets readers as deeply into the heart of a troubled girl . . . has plenty for both the romantic and the adventure lover.” —Booklist, starred review, on Scarlet

“Plenty of swashbuckling adventure and a hearty dose of romance power this re-imagining of the legend of Robin Hood.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review, on Scarlet

“A reimagined Robin Hood tale with a distinctive twist.” —RT Book Reviews on Scarlet

“A must for secondary and public libraries that purchased the first book, this sequel will capture teen interest, and could also serve as a high-energy read-aloud… A welcome addition for libraries wishing to promote strong female protagonists.” —School Library Journal

Product Details
ISBN: 9780802737885
ISBN-10: 0802737889
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Publication Date: April 14th, 2015
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: Scarlet