Skip to main content
The Storyteller

The Storyteller

Current price: $17.99
Publication Date: May 2nd, 2023
Publisher:
Scholastic Press
ISBN:
9781338797268
Pages:
224
Off the Beaten Path Bookstore
2 on hand, as of Feb 23 7:07am
(Children's Juvenile Fiction (7-11))
On Our Shelves Now

Staff Reviews

I love middle grade novels that take their audience seriously. The Storyteller is for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and Walk Two Moons. This is a mystery story about a boy struggling with growing up anxious about a world that isn’t always kind, and missing a mother who is a victim of the epidemic of missing indigenous women, I would recommend this book for young readers who want to read about the real world and about a cast of characters who will seem both familiar and introduce new ideas and worldviews! I’d also recommend this if you read and like the I Survived series!

— Jenna

Description

From National Book Award finalist Brandon Hobson, a kaleidoscopic middle-grade adventure that mixes the anxieties, friendships, and wonders of a Cherokee boy's life with Cherokee history and lore.

Ziggy has ANXIETY. Partly this is because of the way his mind works, and how overwhelmed he can get when other people (especially his classmate Alice) are in the room. And partly it's because his mother disappeared when he was very young, making her one of many Native women who've gone mysteriously missing. Ziggy and his sister, Moon, want answers, but nobody around can give them.

Once Ziggy gets it in his head that clues to his mother's disappearance may be found in a nearby cave, there's no stopping him from going there. Along with Moon, Alice, and his best friend, Corso, he sets out on a mind-bending adventure where he'll discover his story is tied to all the stories of the Cherokees that have come before him.

Ziggy might not have any control over the past -- but if he learns the lessons of the storytellers, he might be able to better shape his future and find the friends he needs.

About the Author

Brandon Hobson is the author of four books for adults, including the acclaimed novel The Removed and the National Book Award finalist Where the Dead Sit Talking. In 2022 he was chosen as a Guggenheim fellow. He teaches creative writing at New Mexico State University and at the Institute of American Indian Arts and is an enrolled citizen of the Cherokee Nation Tribe of Oklahoma. Dr. Hobson lives in New Mexico with his wife and two kids.

Praise for The Storyteller

Praise for The Removed:

"A mythic, sweeping novel." -- New York Times Book Review

"[Hobson's] carved a striking new benchmark for fiction about Native Americans." -- Los Angeles Times

"A soul-stirring saga." -- O, the Oprah Magazine

"Deeply resonant and profound." -- NPR

"The Removed is spirited, droll, and as quietly devastating as rain lifting from earth to sky." -- Tommy Orange, author of There There