Skip to main content
Go-Go Guys

Go-Go Guys

Current price: $15.99
Publication Date: September 19th, 2023
Publisher:
Chronicle Books
ISBN:
9781797205717
Pages:
48
Off the Beaten Path Bookstore
2 on hand, as of Apr 15 5:08am
(Children's Picture Book Hardcover)
On Our Shelves Now

Description

★ “[Little ones] will have a blast go-go-going with these irrepressible tots.”—Booklist, starred review 
★ “Magnificent.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review 

Beloved author Rowboat Watkins’s vivid comic-style take on a universal dilemma―bedtime!

New from the beeping brain of Rowboat Watkins, award-winning author of much-loved children’s picture books including Rude Cakes, Mabel: A Mermaid Fable, and Big Bunny. This comic-style adventure follows the Go-Go Guys from beep-beep-bed to the Moon and beep-beep-back again.

So . . . what do Go-Go Guys do best?

Well . . . GO-GO-GO! They never rest.

Because their brains go

BEEP!

BEEP!

BEEP!

They simply will not go to sleep.

Will the Go-Go Guys ever STOP? Kids and parents who know how hard it is to wind down for bed will enjoy every moment of this zany rhyming read-aloud that will elicit endless giggles!

GOODNIGHT ALREADY: Parents and kids alike will recognize the perennial and universal dilemma that comes with bedtime, or any time kids need to be quiet and still.

COMIC-STYLE ART: Comic-strip panels, inventive illustrations, and fun dialogue bubbles make this cosmic adventure perfect for both picture book audiences and emerging readers, keeping them engaged and wanting more.

GREAT READ-ALOUD: Rowboat Watkins's uniquely funny children's books make for read-aloud and read-along fun, for both family and classroom reading time.

Perfect for:

  • Parents, grandparents, and caregivers looking for funny books to share at bedtime
  • Teacher read-aloud book for elementary classrooms
  • Early and emergent readers seeking books that will keep them engaged
  • Fans of Rowboat Watkins, Oliver Jeffers, Jory John, Mac Barnett, and Jon Klassen
  • Adding to the shelf with books like There Is a Bird on Your Head! by Mo Willems, Hi! Fly Guy by Ted Arnold, Grumpy Monkey by Suzanne Lang, and Fox & Chick by Sergio Ruzzier

About the Author

Rowboat Watkins is a recipient of the Sendak Fellowship and the Ezra Jack Keats New Illustrator Award. He lives with his family in Brooklyn, but you can also visit him at www.rowboatwatkins.com.
 

Praise for Go-Go Guys

“Its simple, repetitive, and playful nature will entertain prereaders in addition to serving those beginning to read on their own. This wild read certainly won’t soothe little ones to sleep, but they’ll have a blast go-go-going with these irrepressible tots.” — Booklist (starred review)

“Watkins has delivered a dose of playful chaos that will most certainly connect with young readers who also ‘aren’t wired for sleep.’” — Horn Book Magazine 

“A zany sense of humor permeates this book, giving the cast wonderful energy and spirit. The panel format offers a comic-book vibe that will appeal to young readers. The rhyming text, sound effects, and delightful illustrations make this a shoe-in for a high-octane story hour.” —School Library Journal

“Vacillating between goofiness and splendor, the wordless visual gags just add to the fun… Fans of insomnia? Rejoice! Sleepy parents? Beware.” — Kirkus reviews 

“With so much visual energy and off-kilter beauty on offer, readers may find their hearts beating faster—every spread exudes a no-grown-ups-in-sight sense of mischief and a magnificent feeling of energetic certitude.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)