Jenna's Top Books to Give 2020

Jenna is our resident hard-core awesome person. When she's not thinking lovingly about her motorcycle, she's reading anything related to Greek Mythology, travel, and amazing ladies. 

Staff Pick Badge
Such a Fun Age Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525541905
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - December 31st, 2019

Awesome contemporary fiction for people interested in current events and anyone who loves watching other people squirm.  Examines the race and class dynamics between wealthy white women and BIPOC childcare providers.  A beautiful and poignant debut novel.
 


Staff Pick Badge
In Five Years: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982137441
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - March 10th, 2020

For those who want to read a lovely but heartbreaking story about friendship, and the strength of the bonds between women.  Perfect for book clubs or long-distance reading between friends.
 


Staff Pick Badge
Mexican Gothic Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525620785
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Del Rey - June 30th, 2020

For the thriller reader looking to branch out, or for anyone looking to indulge their sinister side!  A slow-burn gothic mystery with an explosive and very eerie conclusion.
 


Staff Pick Badge
The Roommate (The Shameless Series #1) Cover Image
$16.00
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780593101605
Published: Berkley - September 15th, 2020

Best contemporary romance of the year.  Silly and sexy in equal measure.  Delightfully feminist and sex-positive.
 


Staff Pick Badge
Girl on a Motorcycle Cover Image
By Amy Novesky, Julie Morstad (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593116296
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - September 8th, 2020

A picture book for anyone looking to instill a love of adventure and an appreciation for the wider world in their young reader.  Also a lovely gift for the adult woman traveler in your life. 


Staff Pick Badge
A Song Below Water: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250315328
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Teen - June 2nd, 2020

A young adult story set in the current day with an element of magic, a thirst for justice, and a heaping serving of heart.  Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo’s Clap When You Land and Poet X.
 


Sulwe Cover Image
By Lupita Nyong'o, Vashti Harrison (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534425361
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - October 15th, 2019

 The most beautifully illustrated picture book of the year, all about loving yourself and your family, and finding acceptance and pride in your differences.
 


Staff Pick Badge
Pretty Things: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780525479123
Published: Random House - April 21st, 2020

A grifter story all about class differences and revenge, where both main characters could be the good guy.  If you like stories that don’t let you ever know who the real criminal is, this one's for you.
 


Staff Pick Badge
Gideon the Ninth (The Locked Tomb Series #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250313188
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tordotcom - July 14th, 2020

 A creepy space opera filled with absent emperors, reanimated skeletons, plenty of snark, and just a hint of romance, this is for anyone looking for a foray into science fiction.  Even better for the sci-fi devotee. 
 


Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Two Ways: A Novel Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781984818355
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - September 22nd, 2020

 An awesome story centering on the idea of “what would you do” if given another chance to go back and do it all over again?  A novel that examines how we approach love, connection, and the inevitability of death.